- Car Rental
- Must See
- Sign In
- Sign Up
- EUR €
Bečići turned in record time from a secluded village into an attractive vacation spot with modern hotels and pristine beaches.
Separated from Budva by the narrow peninsula known as Zavala – which has also become a famous architectural landmark shared by both Budva and Bečići, with a short tunnel on the peninsula connecting the two
Walking from the direction of Budva, the path splits outside the tunnel, with one path leading through the hotel complex, out on the Bečići beach, and the other to the tip of the peninsula. Tourists which decide to walk from Budva to Bečići, the biggest dilemma is whether they should cross the additional 1950 meters along the paved path to Rafailovići or to “set up camp” at the beach.
The beach is the crown jewel of Bečići—with some parts of the beach being 100m wide, a stunning view and various activities and treats, even for the most imaginative visitors.
One of the many distinguishing features of the beach in Bečići are the pebbles – which make this beach one of the most attractive beach on the Montenegrin coast. Shaped by the centuries in the sea and washed ashore by waves these pebbles are intriguing artefects to children and grownups who despite the weather wander the beach looking for the perfectly shaped pebble. You can find a variety of different shapes, including hearts, long ovals, circles, or even egg shaped and sized. However, the shape and smoothness of these stones are not the only qualities that attract visitors to them—the pebbles at Bečići come in myriad colors including white, grey, brown, green and even brick red.
The most interesting feature of Bečići is the unique peninsula named Sveti Stefan, which now is a playground for the rich and famous, owned by Aman Resorts – a luxurious getaway with a fantastic location and breath taking view.
Sveti Stefan was first mentioned in 1442 as a fort near seacoast from which Paštrovići, led by vojvoda Radič repulsed the forces of Stjepan Vukčić Kosača during his offensive in Zeta. According to a legend recounted by Stjepan Mitrov Ljubiša, the town fortification was funded after Paštrovići looted Turkish ships moored in front of Jaz during Barbarossa’s siege of Kotor in 1539.
In the 15th century, the fortified village was built to defend against the Turks and became a haven for pirates of the Adriatic.
Initially, the island with its fortress had 12 families. In the 1800s, a village came to be established on the island with a population of about 400 people.
Villa Miločer, built between 1934 and 1936, was the summer residence of Queen Marija Karadordevic (1900–1961) of the Karađorđević family of Serbia, which was refurbished as part of the Aman Sveti Stefan resorts that opened in 2008–2009. The villa, surrounded by 800 olive trees, is laid out over a 32-hectare (79-acre) plot.
Subsequent to the villagers being moved to the mainland by the authorities, the island village became an exclusive resort frequented by high-profile elites of the world.