Becici is a beautiful little settlement in Montenegro blessed with beautiful beaches and a unique view that even lights up in the evening – The Sveti Stefan island.

Becici turned, in record time, from a secluded village, into an attractive vacation spot with modern hotels and pristine beaches. The narrow peninsula Zavala separates Becici from Budva. Zavala is also a famous landmark since it connects both places with a short tunnel. Walking from the direction of Budva, the path splits outside the tunnel. One way leads through the hotel complex, out on the Becici beach, and the other to the peninsula’s tip.

Tourists walking from Budva to Becici can decide whether to cross the additional 1950 meters along the paved path to Rafailovići or set up camp at the beach. The beach is the crown jewel of Becici. One of the many distinguishing features of the beach in Becici is the pebbles. Shaped by centuries in the sea and washed ashore by waves. These pebbles are intriguing artifacts to children and grownups.

What is interesting about Becici?

The most exciting feature of Becici is the unique peninsula named Sveti Stefan. This island is a playground for the rich and famous. During its time, Sveti Stefan has accommodated many celebrities and influential people. Queen Elisabeth, the Beckham family, and TV star Silvester Stalone are few famous guests who stayed at Sveti Stefan. The island is currently under the management of Aman Resorts – a luxurious getaway with a fantastic location and a breathtaking view.

History of Sveti Stefan

Its first mention is as the capital of the community Pastrovici. After their independent status since the 12th century, the Republic of Venice proclaimed the Pastrovici as their protectorate in 1423. The Pastrovici accepted the Venetian sovereignty because they feared an attack from the Ottoman Empire. In return for ceasing piracy against Venetian ships, the Venetian Republic liberated Paštrovići from any tribute to Venice and granted them considerable autonomy. According to a legend recounted by Stjepan Mitrov Ljubiša, after Pastrovici looted Turkish ships moored in front of Jaz during Barbarossa’s siege of Kotor in 1539, they constructed the town fortification.

In the 15th century, the village was built to defend against the Turks and became a haven for the Adriatic pirates. Initially, the island had 12 families. In the 1800s, a village was established on the island with about 400 people. Villa Milocer, built between 1934 and 1936, was the summer residence of Queen Marija Karadjordevic (1900–1961) of Serbia’s Karadjordevic family. It was refurbished as part of the Aman Sveti Stefan resorts that opened in 2008–2009.

Get Updates & More

Thoughtful thoughts to your inbox